ISO 20022

ISO 20022 (also called UNIFI, Universal Financial Industry Message Scheme) is the international standard for financial transactions such as Credit Transfer and Direct Debit. The general public became aware of ISO 20022 through the introduction of the European retail payment service SEPA (Single Euro Payments Area) in 2014 with IBAN and BIC for Credit Transfers and Direct Debits, both based on ISO 20022.

For most of the general public, IBAN and BIC is all there is to ISO 20022, but it extends far beyond that. Apart from standardizing on XML as transport format (eXtensible Mark-up Language), it also defines processes and rules for financial transactions and publishes them on its website, where they are accessible to everyone.

HISTORY

ISO 20022 started in September 2005, by publishing a new standard for the submission of Credit Transfers from customers to their banks. In the following months, this was gradually extended to cover direct debit, payment clearing and settlement, the processing of complaints, as well as account statements. The great success of this new payment standard led to an extension of ISO 20022 to other business fields such as Cards, Securities or Trading, so that the standard covers hundreds of transaction types today.

In the coming years, additional ISO 20022 migrations are planned for Europe, including the migration of the clearing and settlement system TARGET2-Securities starting in 2015, as well as the gross payments system TARGET2 in 2017. The international banking organization SWIFT is backing ISO 20022 as well, for example with its Common Global Implementation initiative (CGI). CGI is an effort to enable globally operating companies to use only one single format for all their worldwide transactions. In the long run, SWIFT also plans to gradually phase out its proprietary MT-formats in preference of XML-based messages according to the ISO 20022 standard.

All these initiatives lead to a consistent usage of ISO 20022 in order to avoid process and format breaks and to optimize the processing of financial transactions in terms of effort, time and cost. The future of financial transactions lies with ISO 20022 – as the overview of initiatives adopting ISO 20022 around the world impressively shows. (www.iso20022.org/adoption.page)

SIGNIFICANCE

The presence of ISO 20022 as a universal standard implies that the specification of formats, processes and regulations becomes very complex in order to accommodate the requirements of all market participants such as banks, corporate customers, the public sector and retail customers from all around the globe. Moreover, the standard will continue to expand to new business segments and regions, which will result in further continuous adjustments over the coming years.

Therefore – even though ISO 20022 simplifies many processes – the implementation of ISO 20022 will continue to be a complex matter.

Trust in experts and the use of our professional software solutions for ISO 20022 in order to reduce project risks, reduce time to market, benefit from synergies and efficiently implement ISO 20022 in your business model.

ISO 20022

ISO 20022 (auch UNIFI, Universal Financial Industry Message Scheme) ist der internationale Standard für Finanztransaktionen wie z.B. Überweisungen und Lastschriften. Der breiten Öffentlichkeit ist ISO 20022 seit Einführung des europäischen Massenzahlungsverkehrs SEPA (Single Euro Payments Area) in 2014 mit IBAN und BIC für Überweisungen und Lastschriften täglich präsent, denn SEPA basiert auf ISO 20022.

IBAN und BIC prägen ISO 20022 in der öffentlichen Wahrnehmung, doch ISO 20022 geht deutlich weiter. ISO 20022 standardisiert neben XML als Format (eXtensible Mark-up Language) auch die Prozesse und Regeln von Finanztransaktionen und veröffentlicht beides für jedermann zugänglich auf seiner Homepage.

HISTORIE

Begonnen hat ISO 20022 im September 2005 mit der Veröffentlichung eines Standards im Zahlungsverkehr für die Einreichung von Überweisungen durch Kunden an die Bank, der in den folgenden Monaten sukzessive erweitert wurde um Lastschriften, den Interbanken-Zahlungsverkehr, die Reklamationsabwicklung und Kontoauszüge. Der Erfolg von ISO 20022 im Zahlungsverkehr führte in den folgenden Jahren zur Ausweitung in andere Geschäftsfelder wie z.B. Karten, Wertpapiere oder Geldhandel, so dass mittlerweile hunderte Transaktionsarten von ISO 20022 verwaltet werden.

Auch nach SEPA sind in den kommenden Jahren weitere ISO 20022 Migrationen in Europa geplant, u.a.  die Wertpapierabwicklung TARGET2-Securities in Wellen ab 2015 und der Großbetragszahlungsverkehr TARGET2 in 2017. Des Weiteren setzt die internationale Bankenorganisation SWIFT auf ISO 20022 mit der Initiative Common Global Implementation (CGI), in der internationale Banken und Unternehmen zusammen Regeln aufstellen, um global agierende Unternehmen ein einheitliches Format für all ihre weltweiten Transaktionen anzubieten. Langfristig ist bei SWIFT auch der Umstieg  von den sogenannten MT-Formaten im Korrespondenzbank-Clearing auf MX-Formate gemäß ISO 20022 geplant.

All diese Initiativen führen dazu, dass durchgängig ISO 20022 eingesetzt wird, Prozess- und Formatbrüche vermieden werden und die Abwicklung von Finanztransaktionen mit Blick auf Aufwand, Zeit und Kosten optimiert wird. Die Zukunft bei Finanztransaktionen gehört ISO 20022 – wie die Übersicht aller ISO 20022 Umsetzungen weltweit auf www.iso20022.org/adoption.page beeindruckend demonstriert.

BEDEUTUNG

Der Anspruch von ISO 20022 als universeller und weltweiter Standard hat zur Folge, dass die Spezifikationen der Formate, Prozesse und Regeln sehr umfangreich und komplex sind, um den Anforderungen aller Marktteilnehmer wie Banken, Firmenkunden, öffentlicher Sektor und Privatkunden in allen Ländern gerecht zu werden. Des Weiteren führen der praktische Einsatz und die Ausbreitung in weitere Geschäftsfelder und Regionen dazu, dass der Standard in den nächsten Jahren weiter fortlaufend angepasst werden wird.

Daher – auch wenn ISO 20022 Abläufe vereinfacht, bleibt die Umsetzung von ISO 20022 komplex.

Vertrauen Sie auf Experten und den Einsatz unserer professionellen Softwarelösungen für ISO 20022, um Projektrisiken zu minimieren, Time to Market zu reduzieren, Synergien zu heben und ISO 20022 für Ihr Geschäftsmodell optimal umzusetzen.